On Air Now

Guess the local year

Noon - 3:00pm

Now Playing

The Klf With Tammy Wynette

Justified & Ancient

Winners revealed at Beyond Radio Volunteer Awards Night

Duncan Moore presents the Community Focus Award to Mateo Sanderson

Beyond Radio has announced the winners of our annual Volunteer Awards to honour our amazing team of volunteers for the work they do throughout the year.

The event was held at the Trimpell sports and social club in Morecambe on Sunday and was hosted by Duncan Moore, Beyond Radio's communities director and volunteer co-ordinator.

Some of the award winners were decided by a panel, some were given by the Beyond Radio board of directors, and others were voted for by our volunteers.

There was also a Listeners' Choice Award for favourite programme, voted for by the Beyond Radio listeners.

Listeners voted via our app and one of them, Kelly Knowles, won tickets to attend the Awards Night itself.

For the first time, the Adam Stutchbury Memorial Award was given in memory of Beyond Radio volunteer Adam Stutchbury, who died earlier this year.

Live music at the event came from The Beets and The Howling Clowns.

Here is the full list of award winners:

Daytime Support - Roy Ward

Newcomer to Radio - Ross Chapman

Community Focus - Mateo Sanderson

Say It Like It Is Award - Jonathan Pearson

Specialist Show Outstanding Contribution - Phil McGrath and The Quick Draw Radio Show

Adam Stutchbury Memorial Award - Greg Lambert and Dave Salmon for Shrimps Live, The Shrimps Podcast, Beyond the Headlines, The Resident and local news

Directors' Awards - Alistair Fisher, Luke Stutchbury, Phill Hayward, Sam Cragg, Paul Tee, Nathan Hill, Vanessa Ramsden, Ross Chapman, Mat Cook and Corey Penfold for Mac on Demand

Volunteers' Choice for Most Engaging Presenter - Gibson Freedman, The Teatime Show

Volunteers' Choice for Favourite Show - The Northern Selection & The Soulful Strut, Roy Ward and Ian Cottam

Listeners' Choice Award - Vanessa Ramsden, The Random Show


Here are some photos from Sunday's event, courtesy of Ethan Isaacs and Luke Edmondson

Above, Duncan Moore presents Luke Stutchbury with a Director's Award

Ian Cottam and Roy Ward won the Volunteers' Choice Award for Best Programme, for their Wednesday night soul music show The Northern Selection & Soulful Strut. Roy also won the Daytime Support award.

The Beets performed live at the Awards 

Phil McGrath won the Specialist Show Outstanding Contribution Award for The Quick Draw Radio Show on Monday nights

The Howling Clowns were their usual entertaining selves!

Vanessa Ramsden won a Director's Award and the Listeners' Choice Award for The Random Show 

Greg Lambert, Luke Edmondson, Sharon Lambert, Dave Salmon, Nathan Hill and Phill Hayward

Ross Chapman won two awards, a Director's Award and Best Newcomer to Radio for his work on The Saturday Sports Show and as a volunteer sports reporter with Beyond Radio

Harri Deane, who presents On the Record on Wednesday evenings, and Chris Denerley who hosts The Folk and Acoustic Show on Wednesdays and The Sensational 60s and 70s Show on Friday nights

Mat Cook and Corey Penfold won a Director's Award for their Mac on Demand show on Sunday evenings

The Trimpell Club in Morecambe hosted our annual Volunteer Awards event

Alistair Fisher, host of The Saturday Sports Show, won a Director's Award

Luke Edmondson, Wendy Moore and Silent Mark Read, host of Another Monday Evening Show

Paul Tee, host of Beyond the Blues Horizon on Thursdays, is presented with a Director's Award

This is what happens when you try to leave a Howling Clowns gig early, you get literally dragged onto stage to perform with them!

Award winners Sam Cragg and Mateo Sanderson

More from Beyond Radio Station News

Recently Played Songs

  • 12:07pm

    Justified & Ancient

    The Klf With Tammy Wynette
  • 12:04pm


    Ce Ce Peniston

  • 11:55am

    Who Do You Think You Are

    Saint Etienne