On Air Now

The Resident

6:00pm - 8:00pm

Now Playing

Bruce Springsteen

Born to Run

Westmorland Cricket League announces draw for divisional cups

Morecambe 4ths with the Moon and Coxhill Trophy last season

As the new cricket season draws closer, the Westmorland Cricket League has announced the draw for the first stage of its divisional cups. 

The league season will get under way in April, before the cups begin in May for teams in Divisions 1, 2 and 3 - who play in a group stage format to start off with.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the quarter finals.

Meanwhile, Division 4’s cup - the Moon and Coxhilll Trophy - will be a knockout competition from the off, with games to be played by the end of June. 

The holders of the Division 1 cup - the Hackney and Leigh Trophy - are Burneside, who also won it in 2022.

They are in a group with Arnside, Kendal 2nds and Sedgwick as they hope to make it three consecutive cup wins. 

Here’s the draw for the Hackney & Leigh Trophy group stage in full:


Group 1: Appleby Eden, Kirkby Stephen, Silverdale

Group 2: Arnside, Kendal 2nds, Sedgwick, Burneside

Group 3: Carnforth 2nds, Shireshead & Forton, Morecambe 2nds

Group 4: Bare, Holme, Lindal Moor and Warton


Finals day for the trophy, which consists of the semi final and the final, will be July 28 at Morecambe Cricket Club.

The British Rose Trophy, the Division 2 trophy, was won by Shireshead & Forton’s 2nds team.

As they remain in Division 2, they will have the opportunity to secure back to back trophy victories.

Here’s the draw for the British Rose Trophy group stage in full:


Group 1: Sedgwick 2nds, Burneside 2nds, Ingleton, Kirkby Lonsdale

Group 2: Cartmel, Netherfield 2nds, Settle 2nds, Penrith 2nds

Group 3: Trimpell, Coniston, Morecambe 3rds, Shireshead & Forton 2nds

Group 4: Heysham 2nds, Ambleside, Milnthorpe, Westgate 2nds


Finals day is July 14 at Kendal Cricket Club. 

The Kendal Sports Trophies Cup, the Division 3 Cup, was won by Ingleton in 2023.

The Yorkshire side were also promoted last year so will not be competing in the trophy this season.

Here’s the draw for the Kendal Sports Trophies Cup group stage in full:


Group 1: Windermere, Holme 2nds, Silverdale 2nds

Group 2: Leven Valley, Appleby Eden 2nds, Arnside 2nds

Group 3: Bare 2nds, Morecambe 4ths, Lindal Moor 2nds

Group 4: Galgate, Bolton-le-Sands, Carnforth 3rds, Shireshead & Forton 3rds


Finals day is July 21 at Coniston Cricket Club.

The Moon & Coxhill Trophy is contested by the teams in both Division 4 North and Division 4 South.

Last season’s winners, Morecambe 4ths, are now in Division 3.

Here’s the full draw for Round One of the Moon & Coxhill Trophy:


Netherfield 4ths v Kirkby Stephen 2nds

Coniston 2nds v Sedgwick 3rds 

Ulverston 3rds v Burneside 3rds 

Ingleton 2nds v Milnthorpe 2nds

Heysham 3rds v Kendal 3rds

Shireshead & Forton 4ths v Settle 3rds

Kirkby Lonsdale 2nds v Millom 3rds

Westgate 3rds v Appleby Eden 3rds


Finals day is August 4 at Windermere Cricket Club. 

For full details on fixtures, including when the ties will be taking place, visit the Westmorland Cricket League’s Facebook page.  

More from Local Sport

Recently Played Songs

Up next on Beyond Radio