On Air Now

Non Stop Beyond

Midnight - 6:00am

Now Playing

Tears For Fears

Sowing the Seeds of Love

Opening day football fixtures announced for five local clubs

Slyne with Hest FC in action last season. Photo by Phil Dawson.

Five more of our local non-league football clubs now know how the season will start.

The West Lancashire Football League has released its opening day fixtures.

Caton United FC’s first team were successfully elected into the league after previously playing in the North Lancashire & District League, while Galgate FC were unanimously re-elected at the league's AGM after finishing rock bottom of Division 2 last season.

Freckleton FC will have a second side who will play in Division 2 Reserves next season while Rossendale FC will field a new 'A' side (3rd XI) in Division 2 Reserves.

Cleator Moor Celtic FC were formally welcomed into the Premier Division following their relegation from the North West Counties League.

Cartmel AFC, Vickerstown FC and Burnley United FC have all voluntarily left the WLFL and will play their football elsewhere.

Morecambe’s Trimpell & Bare Rangers FC, who played last season in the Mid Lancashire Football League, had sought election to the WLFL for this coming season but had their application voted against at the WLFL AGM on June 8.

Trimpell sadly announced on July 2 that the first team had folded, with manager Cain Mulgrew and his coaching staff leaving the club to manage at Slyne with Hest FC in the WLFL Premier Division.

This was after Slyne’s manager Gavin Clark resigned at the end of last season to take up the assistant manager’s position at Kendal Town FC in the North West Counties League.

The Football Associations Orsted West Lancashire Football League (WLFL), which stands at Level 11 in the football pyramid, will have 72 teams from 47 different football clubs across its five divisions in the forthcoming season.

The Premier Division will include 17 teams, while Divisions 1 and 2 will both have 15 teams each.

The WLFL also has a reserves Division 1 (12 teams) and a reserves’ Division 2 (13 teams).

Like many grass-root leagues, the WLFL fixtures are published on a rolling monthly basis.

Since the end of last season, the West Lancs League has welcomed some new clubs and teams to the various divisions and said farewell to others.

The opening day fixtures for our local teams are:

West Lancs Premier

Hurst Green FC v Slyne with Hest FC


West Lancs Division 1

Haslingden St Marys FC v Carnforth Rangers FC


West Lancs Division 2

Caton United FC v Walney Island FC

Pause United CFC v Astley & Buckshaw United FC

Storeys FC of Lancaster v Euxton Villa FC


Galgate FC do not have a league game on the opening day of the season.


West Lancs Division 2 Reserves

Carnforth Rangers FC Reserves v Haslingden St Marys Reserves

Chipping FC Reserves v Storeys FC of Lancaster Reserves


All West Lancashire Football league fixtures will be included every week from the start of the season in the Beyond Radio sports guide on our website and across our social media platforms.

The West Lancashire Football League season kicks off on Saturday August 5 at 3pm.

More from Local Sport

Recently Played Songs

  • 12:32am

    Sowing the Seeds of Love

    Tears For Fears

  • 12:28am


    Justin Timberlake

  • 12:24am

    Wish You Well

    Sigala & Becky Hill