On Air Now


6:00am - 10:00am

Now Playing

Biffy Clyro


Morecambe MP confirms he will stand again in next General Election

David Morris

The MP for Morecambe and Lunesdale will stand again in the next General Election, it has been confirmed.

David Morris has been re-adopted to be the Conservative candidate for the constituency at the next election, it was announced over the weekend.

Mr Morris said he was "delighted" to have been unanimously chosen by Conservatives as candidate for the election, which is due to take place no later than January 2025.

The MP was first elected in 2010 when he defeated sitting MP Geraldine Smith of the Labour party. He was subsequently re-elected in 2015, 2017 and 2019, most recently via a 6,354 majority.

The Morecambe and Lunesdale seat is expected to have new boundaries by the time of the next election, as changes are due to come into effect.

Under the Boundary Commission for England proposals, the constituency would now include Arnside and Milnthorpe, Burton and Crooklands, Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale, as well as Bare, Bolton and Slyne, Carnforth and Millhead, Halton-with-Aughton, Harbour, Heysham, the Kellets, Lower Lune Valley, Overton, Poulton, Silverdale, Torrisholme, Upper Lune Valley, Warton and Westgate.

The Boundary Commission for England must make its final recommendations by July 1 2023 before any changes can become law.

More from Local News

Local Business Partners

Recently Played Songs